Champions league winners

Champions League Winners

Champions League Winners List

Only 22 different football clubs from just 10 countries have made onto the Champions League winners list. The Champions League (officially the UEFA Champions League) is a European football competition which takes place every year and pits 32 teams in 8 groups against each other. Champions League qualification is complicated, based on coefficient system way beyond the scope of this list but, in general terms, there are automatic and qualifying routes. Last years winning club gets automatic entry to defend their title. Teams which win their domestic league (from high enough ranked countries) are most likely to get automatic entry, the other places depends on club results around Europe.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort champions league winners. Click the + icon to show any hidden columns. Set your browser to full screen to show as many columns as possible. Start typing in the Filter table box to find anything inside the table.

Champions League WinnersTitlesFinalsRatio %Year/s of Title Wins(1)Home Country#
Real Madrid111476.92016, 2014, 2002, 2000, 1998, 1966, 1960, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1956Spain1
AC Milan711642007, 2003, 1994, 1990, 1989, 1969, 1963Spain2
Liverpool FC
57712005, 1984, 1981, 1978, 1977England3
Ajax Amsterdam46671995, 1973, 1972, 1971Netherlands4
FC Barcelona5862.52015, 2011, 2009, 2006, 1992Spain5
Bayern Munich59562013, 2001, 1976, 1975, 1974Germany6
Inter Milan35602010, 1965, 1964Italy7
Manchester United35602008, 1999, 1968,England8
Juventus Turin27291996, 1985 vs Liverpool (Heysel Stadium disaster with 39 deaths)Italy9
Benfica Lisbon27291962, 1961Portugal10
Nottingham Forest221001980, 1979England11
FC Porto221002004, 1987Portugal12
Hamburger SV12501983 vs Juventus 1:0; 1980 lost to Nottingham ForestGermany13
Celtic Glasgow12501967 vs. Inter Milan 2:1Scotland14
Steaua Bucharest12501986 vs. FC Barcelona 2:0 penalty shootoutRomania15
Chelsea FC12502012 vs. FC Bayern Munich 4:3 penalty shootoutEngland16
Olympique Marseille12501993 vs. AC Milan 1:0 (1st final of newly formed Champions League)France17
PSV Eindhoven111001988 vs. Benfica 6:5 penalty shootoutNetherlands18
Borussia Dortmund12501997 vs. Juventus 3:1Germany19
Feyennoord Rotterdam111001970 vs. Celtic Glasgow 2: 1 extra timeNetherlands20
Aston Villa111001982 vs. FC Bayern Munich 1:0England21
Red Star Belgrade111001991 vs. Olympique Marseille 5:3 penalty shootoutSerbia22
(1) Between 1955 and 1992 = European Champions Cup. This Champions league winners table was last updated June 2016.

Look out for Champions league winners quiz questions
Now Play ADDucation’s FREE Online Really Easy Football / Soccer Quiz…

Related ADDucation Soccer Lists

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

twenty + 17 =