euro cup winners

Euro Cup Winners List ⚽

UEFA Euro Cup Winners List 1960-2020 (& Euro 2021) ⚽🏆

The rescheduled Euro 2020 UEFA European Championship football tournament will be played in 11 host cities across Europe. The Euro 2020 final will be played at Wembley Stadium in London, England at 8pm UK Time (BST) on 12 July 2020. The European football championship was originally the UEFA European Nations Cup before it was renamed to the UEFA European Championship in 1968 but it’s more commonly referred to “the Euros” or Euro 2020 (including the year).

  • ADDucation’s list of Euro Cup Winners compiled by Joe Connor, last updated 15 Jun 2021
FAQs About The Euros - Euro 2020 Rescheduled to 2021

FAQs About UEFA European Football Championship.

When will Euro 2020 be played?

Euro 2020 was scheduled for June/July 2020 but, due to the coronavirus pandemic was rescheduled and is now underway.

Which country has won the European Championship the most times?

Germany and Spain have been Euro cup winners three times. Germany has reached the final six times. Spain has reached the final four times.

Who's the top goalscorer in the Euros?

Michel Platini (France) and Christiano Ronaldo (Portugal) are tied on 9 goals, followed by Alan Shearer (England) with 7 goals.

How many national teams compete in the Euros?

24 national teams qualified for Euro 2020 (postponed until Summer 2021) from 55 competing teams, including Kosovo for the first time. 24 national teams qualified for 2016 from 53 competing teams. 16 national teams qualified for Euro 2012 from 51 competing teams.

How often is the UEFA European Football Championship held?

The Euros have been held every 4 years since 1960, on the opposite cycle to the FIFA World Cup. On every other even numbered year there will be either a World Cup or Euros football tournament.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort euro cup winners columns. Reload page for original sort order. Resize your browser to full screen and/or zoom out to display as many columns as possible. Click the ➕ icon to reveal any hidden columns. Start typing in the Filter table box to find any euro cup winners inside the table.

Year Euro Cup Winners ⚽ Euro Cup Finalists Euro Cup Semi Finalists [2]Third Place play off Host/s Teams Goals
1960 Soviet Union Soviet Union v Yugoslavia 2-1. France v Yugoslavia 4-5
Czechoslovakia v Soviet Union 0-3
Czechoslovakia v France 2:0 France 4 17
1964 🇪🇸 Spain Spain v Soviet Union 2-1. Spain v Hungary 2-1 (after extra time)
Denmark v Soviet Union 0-3
Hungary v Denmark 3:1 (after extra time). Spain 4 13
1968 🇮🇹 Italy Italy v Yugoslavia 2-0. Italy v Soviet Union 0-0 (after extra time, Italy won on the toss of a coin)
Yugoslavia v England 1-0
England v Soviet Union 2-0 Italy 4 5
1972 🇩🇪 Germany West Germany v Soviet Union 3-0. Belgium v West Germany 1-2
Hungary v Soviet Union 0-1
Belgium v Hungary 2-1 Belgium 4 10
1976 Czechoslovakia Czechoslovakia v West Germany 7-5 (penalty shootout). Czechoslovakia v Netherlands 3-1 (after extra time)
Yugoslavia v West Germany 2-4 (after extra time)
Netherlands v Yugoslavia 3-2 (after extra time). Yugoslavia 4 20
1980 🇩🇪 Germany West Germany v Belgium 2-1. No semi-finals. The two group runners up played for third place. [2]Third place play-offs ended Czechoslovakia v Italy 9-8 (penalty shootout). Italy 8 27
1984 🇫🇷 France France v Spain 2-0. France v Portugal 3-2 (after extra time)
Spain v Denmark 6-5 (penalty shootout)
France 8 41
1988 🇳🇱 Netherlands Netherlands v Soviet Union 2-0. Netherlands v West Germany 2-1
Soviet Union v Italy 2-0
Germany 8 34
1992 🇩🇰 Denmark Denmark v Germany 2-0. Germany v Sweden 3-2
Denmark v Netherlands 7-6 (penalty shootout)
Sweden 8 32
1996 🇩🇪 Germany Germany v Czech Republic 2-1
(golden goal by Bierhoff).
Czech Republic v France 6-5 (penalty shootout)
Germany v England 7-6 (penalty shootout)
England 16 64
2000 🇫🇷 France France v Italy 2-1 (golden goal by Trezeguet). France v Portugal 2-1 (after extra time)
Italy v Netherlands 3-1 (penalty shootout)
Belgium / Holland 16 85
2004 🇬🇷 Greece Greece v Portugal 1-0. Portugal v Netherlands 2-1
Greece v Czech Republic 1-0 (after extra time)
Portugal 16 77
2008 🇪🇸 Spain Spain v Germany 1-0. Germany v Turkey 3-2
Spain v Russia 3-0
Switzerland / Austria 16 77
2012 🇪🇸 Spain Spain v Italy 4-0. Spain v Portugal 4-2 (penalty shootout)
Italy v Germany 2-1
Poland / Ukraine 16 76
2016 🇵🇹 Portugal Portugal v France 1-0. Portugal v Wales 2-0
France v Germany 2-0
France 24 108
2020 In progress
Sunday, 11 July 2021 To be decided England, Scotland, Italy, Germany, Azerbaijan, Russia, Denmark, Netherlands, Romania, Spain and Hungary 24 TBD

⚽ Euro Cup Winners Table Notes: [1] In 2012 it was decided to hold Euro 2020 across different European cities. [2]Third and fourth places were no longer awarded after Euro 1980. The 2020 European football championship semi-finals and finals will be played at Wembley Stadium, London, England. Important! ADDucation’s lists are published for information only and we acknowledge all registered marks and trademarks belong to their respective organizations including FIFATM, UEFATM and The FATM.

Any Euro cup winners featured in ADDucation football quizzes?
Kick off with ADDucation’s Free Really Easy Football / Soccer Quiz…

Euro Cup Winners Related ADDucation Lists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *