all-time football world cup winners

Men’s Football World Cup Winners

Football World Cup Winners Mens All-Time List

Brazil tops the mens all-time football world cup winners table with 5 world cup wins followed by Italy and Germany with 4 wins each. England has managed just one win in 1966 and the USA reached the quarter-finals in 2002 before losing 0:1 to Germany. We’ve included the World Cup Golden Boot Award[1] for the top goal scorer/s in each tournament, one of 5 post competition World Cup Awards.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort football world cup winners. Click the + icon to show any hidden columns. Set your browser to full screen to show as many columns as possible. Start typing in the Filter table box to find anything inside the table.

YearWorld ChampionsWorld Cup Final ResultSemi Final ResultWorld Cup HostsTeamsTotal GoalsGolden Boot / Golden Shoe AwardGoalsCountry
1930UruguayURUGUAY v Argentina 4:2League Table:
3rd USA, 4th Yugoslavia
Uruguay1370Guillemo Stable8Argentina
1934ItalyITALY v Czechoslovakia 2:1
(after extra time)
GERMANY v Austria 3:2Italy1670Oldřich Nejedlý5Czechoslovakia
1938ItalyITALY v Hungary 4:2BRAZIL v Sweden 4:2France1584Leonidas8Brazil
1950UruguayURUGUAY v Brazil 2:1League Table:
3rd Sweden, 4th Spain
1954GermanyGERMANY v Hungary 3:2AUSTRIA v Uruguay 3:1Switzerland16140Sandor Kocsis11Hungary
1958BrazilBRAZIL v Sweden 5:2FRANCE v Germany 6:3Sweden16126Just Fontaine13France
1962BrazilBRAZIL v Czechoslovakia 3:1CHILE v Yugoslavia 1:0Chile1689Flórián Albert
Valentin Ivanov
Dražan Jerković
Leonel Sánchez
Soviet Union
1966EnglandENGLAND v Germany 4:2
(after extra time)
PORTUGAL v USSR 2:1England1689Eusebio9Portugal
1970BrazilBRAZIL v Italy 4:1GERMANY v Uruguay 1:0Mexico1695Gerd Müller10Germany
1974GermanyGERMANY v Netherlands 2:1POLAND v Brazil 1:0Germany1697Grzegorz Lato7Poland
1978ArgentinaARGENTINA v Netherlands 3:1
(after extra time)
BRAZIL v Italy 1:0Argentina16102Mario Kempes6Argentina
1982ItalyITALY v Germany 3:1POLAND v France 3:2Spain24146Paolo Rossi6Italy
1986ArgentinaARGENTINA v Germany 3:2FRANCE v Belgium 4:2
(after extra time)
Mexico24132Gary Lineker6England
1990GermanyGERMANY v Argentina 1:0ITALY v England 2:1Italy24115Salvatore Schillaci6Italy
1994BrazilBRAZIL v Italy 3:2
(after extra time)
SWEDEN v Bulgaria 4:0USA24141Oleg Salenko
Hristo Stoichkov
1998FranceFRANCE v Brazil 3:0CROATIA v Holland 2:1France32171Davor Suker6Croatia
2002BrazilBRAZIL v Germany 2:0TURKEY v South Korea 3:2Korea & Japan32161Ronaldo8Brazil
2006ItalyITALY v France 5:3
(after extra time)
GERMANY v Portugal 3:1Germany32147Miroslav Klose5Germany
2010SpainSPAIN v Netherlands 1:0
(after extra time)
GERMANY v Uruguay 3:2South Africa32145Thomas Müller5Germany
2014GermanyGERMANY vs Argentina 1:0
(after extra time)
NETHERLANDS v Brazil 3:0Brazil32172James Rodríguez6Columbia
2018FranceFRANCE vs Croatia 4:2BELGIUM v England 2:0Russia32169Harry Kane6England
2022  Qatar32
2026  USA, Canada, Mexico48
[1] Formerly called the World Cup Golden Shoe Award between 1982-2006. Prior to 1982 there was no award for the top goalscorer but we have included them in our list.

Includes football world cup winners quiz questions
Kick off with ADDucation’s FREE Online Really Easy Football / Soccer Quiz…

FIFA™ World Cup Tournament Awards

After the tournament 5 World Cup Awards are made:

  • Best Young Player Award for best under 21 player, first awarded 2006.
  • Fair Play Trophy Award for the team with the best fair play record, first awarded 1970.
  • Golden Ball Award for best player, first awarded 1982.
  • Golden Boot Award for top goal scorer, first awarded 1982.
  • Golden Glove Award for best goalkeeper, first awarded 1994.

There’s also a Man of the Match Award during each World Cup game for outstanding performance, first awarded 2002.

Related to Football World Cup Winners:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

2 × 2 =