baileys prize for fiction

All Baileys Prize for Fiction Winners

Baileys Prize for Fiction All Time List

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is awarded annually for the best full-length novel written in English by a woman of any nationality. The award was established to counter the lack of female representation in other literary prizes, it was initially sponsored by Orange and, since 2014, by Baileys. There’s a cash prize along with a Bessie – a bronze figure of a standing woman created by Grizel Niven. Our list details all the Baileys prize for fiction winners along with their winning title and nationality.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort our Baileys prize for fiction list. Click the + icon to show any hidden columns. Set your browser to full screen to show as many columns as possible. Start typing in the Filter table box to find anything inside the table.

YearWinning AuthorTitleNationality
1996Helen DunmoreA Spell of WinterGB
1997Anne MichaelsFugitive PiecesCanada
1998Carol ShieldsLarry’s PartyUSA/Canada
1999Suzanne BerneA Crime in the NeighborhoodUSA
2000Linda GrantWhen I Lived in Modern TimesGB
2001Kate GrenvilleThe Idea of PerfectionAustralia
2002Ann PatchettBel CantoUSA
2003Valerie MartinPropertyUSA
2004Andrea LevySmall IslandGB
2005Lionel ShriverWe Need to Talk About KevinUSA
2006Zadie SmithOn BeautyGB
2007Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieHalf of a Yellow SunNigeria
2008Rose TremainThe Road HomeGB
2009Marilynne RobinsonHomeUSA
2010Barbara KingsolverThe LacunaUSA
2011Téa ObrehtThe Tiger’s WifeUSA/Serbia
2012Madeline MillerThe Song of AchillesUSA
2013A.M. HomesMay We Be ForgivenUSA
2014Eimear McBrideA Girl Is a Half-Formed ThingGB/Irish
2015Ali Smith
How To Be BothGB/Scotland
2016Lisa McInerneyThe Glorious HeresiesIreland
2017Naomi AldermanThe PowerGB

Baileys Prize for Fiction Related Lists

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

20 + 17 =