pulitzer prize winners

Pulitzer Prize Winners

All Pulitzer Prize Winners List 1918-2019

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is awarded each year to American authors of new books covering American life. The first Pulitzer prize was awarded in 1918. The award was initiated by Jewish journalist Joseph Pulitzer rewarding winners with a gold medal and $10,000 in cash. Pulitzer emigrated to the US in 1864 and became wealthy in the newspaper industry, founding the yellow press in the process.

Pulitzer strongly supported investigative reporting and exposed a bribe by the USA to the Panama Canal Company. This led to an indictment for libeling US President Roosevelt which was later dismissed. Pulitzer bequeathed $2 million to fund a school of journalism at Columbia University and yearly prizes for literature along with journalism, music and drama. ADDucation’s Pulitzer prize winners for literature list shows the Pulitzer winner for each year, the author and title of their book.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort Pulitzer prize winners. Click the + icon to show any hidden columns. Set your browser to full screen to show as many columns as possible. Start typing in the Filter table box to find anything inside the table.

2019The Overstory.Richard Powers
2018LessAndrew Sean Greer
2017The Underground RailroadColson Whitehead
2016The Sympathizer.Viet Thanh Nguyen
2015All the light we cannot see.Anthony Doerr
2014The Goldfinch.Donna Tartt
2013The Orphan Master’s Son.Adam Johnson
2012No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
2011A Visit from the Goon Squad.Jennifer Egan
2010Tinkers.Paul Harding
2009Olive Kitteridge.Elizabeth Strout
2008The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.Junot Diaz
2007The Road.Cormac McCarthy
2006March.Geraldine Brooks
2005Gilead.Marilynne Robinson
2004The Known World.Edward P. Jones
2003Middlesex.Jeffrey Eugenides
2002Empire Falls.Richard Russo
2001The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay.Michael Chabon
2000Interpreter of Maladies.Jhumpa Lahiri
1999The Hours.Michael Cunningham
1998American Pastoral.Philip Roth
1997Martin Dressler.Steven Millhauser
1996Independence Day.Richard Ford
1995The Stone Diaries.Carol Shields
1994The Shipping News.E. Annie Proulx
1993A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain.Robert Olen Butler
1992A Thousand Acres.Jane Smiley
1991Rabbit At Rest.John Updike
1990The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love.Oscar Hijuelos
1989Breathing Lessons.Anne Tyler
1988Beloved.Toni Morrison
1987A Summons to Memphis.Peter Taylor
1986Lonesome Dove.Larry McMurtry
1985Foreign Affairs.Alison Lurie
1984Ironweed.William Kennedy
1983The Color Purple.Alice Walker
1982Rabbit Is Rich.John Updike
1981A Confederacy of Dunces.John Kennedy Toole
1980The Executioner’s Song.Norman Mailer
1979The Stories of John Cheever.John Cheever
1978Elbow Room.James Alan McPherson
1977No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1976Humboldt’s Gift.Saul Bellow
1975The Killer Angels.Michael Shaara
1974No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1973The Optimist’s Daughter.Eudora Welty
1972Angle of Repose.Wallace Stegner
1971No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1970Collected Stories.Jean Stafford
1969House Made of Dawn.N. Scott Momaday
1968The Confessions of Nat Turner.William Styron
1967The Fixer.Bernard Malamud
1966Collected Stories.Katherine Anne Porter
1965The Keepers Of The House.Shirley Ann Grau
1964No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1963The Reivers.William Faulkner
1962The Edge of Sadness.Edwin O’Connor
1961To Kill A Mockingbird.Harper Lee
1960Advise and Consent.Allen Drury
1959The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters.Robert Lewis Taylor
1958A Death In The Family.James Agee
1957No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1956Andersonville.MacKinlay Kantor
1955A Fable.William Faulkner
1954No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1953The Old Man and the Sea.Ernest Hemingway
1952The Caine Mutiny.Herman Wouk
1951The Town.Conrad Richter
1950The Way West.A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
1949Guard of Honor.James Gould Cozzens
1948Tales of the South Pacific.James A. Michener
1947All the King’s Men.Robert Penn Warren
1946(No Award).(No Award)
1945A Bell for Adano.John Hersey
1944Journey in the Dark.Martin Flavin
1943Dragon’s Teeth.Upton Sinclair
1942In This Our Life.Ellen Glasgow
1941No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1940The Grapes of Wrath.John Steinbeck
1939The Yearling.Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
1938The Late George Apley.John Phillips Marquand
1937Gone With the Wind.Margaret Mitchell
1936Honey in the Horn.Harold L. Davis
1935Now in November.Josephine Winslow Johnson
1934Lamb in His Bosom.Caroline Miller
1933The Store.T. S. Stribling
1932The Good Earth.Pearl S. Buck
1931Years of Grace.Margaret Ayer Barnes
1930Laughing Boy.Oliver Lafarge
1929Scarlet Sister Mary.Julia Peterkin
1928The Bridge of San Luis Rey.Thornton Wilder
1927Early Autumn.Louis Bromfield
1926Arrowsmith.Sinclair Lewis
1925So Big.Edna Ferber
1924The Able McLaughlins.Margaret Wilson
1923One of Ours.Willa Cather
1922Alice Adams.Booth Tarkington
1921The Age of Innocence.Edith Wharton
1920No Pulitizer Prize Winners.
1919The Magnificent Ambersons.Booth Tarkington
1918His Family.Ernest Poole
1917No Pulitizer Prize Winner this year.

ADDucation’s Pulitzer Prize Winners Related Lists:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

three × two =