Doctor Who actors

Doctor Who Actors List

Doctor Who Actors All Time List

Doctor Who is a British SciFi TV series based around “The Doctor”, who is a Time Lord from the planet Gallifrey. The Doctor travels through space and time in a TARDIS, which looks like a Police Box on the outside but is much bigger on the inside. The Doctor “regenerates” from time to time, taking on a new physical form and personality. All Doctor Who actors before Jodie Whittaker became the Doctor, and first “Time lady”, in 2017 were men. The iconic Dr Who theme music, composed by Australian Ron Grainer and produced by Delia Derbyshire at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop in 1963 is played at the start of each episode.

  • Doctor Who actors and companions list compiled by Joe Connor and last updated May 30, 2024 @ 7:23 pm.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort them. Reload page for original sort order. Resize your browser to full screen and/or zoom out to display as many columns as possible. Click the ➕ icon to reveal any hidden columns. Start typing in the Filter table box to find Doctor Who trivia inside the table.

All the Doctors Dr. Who Actors First Episode Last Episode Dr. Who Companions & Dr Who Trivia
First Doctor Who
1st Doctor
William Hartnell 23 Nov 1963 29 Oct 1966
  • William Hartnell was the original Doctor Who and first Doctor Who actor.
  • The first Doctor Who companions are Susan Foreman (Carole Ann Ford), Barbara Wright (Jacqueline Hill), Ian Chesterton (William Russell), Vicki (Maureen O’Brien), Steven Taylor (Peter Purves), Katarina (Adrienne Hill), Sara Kingdom (Jean Marsh), Dodo Chaplet (Jackie Lane), Polly (Anneke Wills) and Ben Jackson (Michael Craze).
Second Doctor
2nd Doctor
Patrick Troughton 29 Oct 1966 21 Jun 1969
  • Patrick Troughton was the second Doctor / 2nd Doctor Who actor.
  • The second Doctor Who companions are Polly (Anneke Wills), Ben Jackson (Michael Craze), Jamie McCrimmon (Frazer Hines and Hamish Wilson), Victoria Waterfield (Deborah Watling), Zoe Heriot (Wendy Padbury) and Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart (Nicholas Courtney).
Third Doctor
3rd Doctor
Jon Pertwee 3 Jan 1970 8 Jun 1974
  • Jon Pertwee was the third Doctor / 3rd Doctor Who actor.
  • The third Doctor Who companions are Liz Shaw (Caroline John), Jo Grant (Katy Manning) and Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen).
Fourth Doctor
4th Doctor
Tom Baker 8 Jun 1974 21 Mar 1981
  • Tom Baker was the fourth Doctor / 4th Doctor Who actor.
  • The fourth Doctor Who companions are Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen), Harry Sullivan (Ian Marter), Leela (Louise Jameson), K-9 Mark 1 (voice of John Leeson), K-9 Mark 2 (voices of John Leeson and David Brierley), Romana (Mary Tamm then Lalla Ward), Adric (Matthew Waterhouse), Tegan Jovanka (Janet Fielding) and Nyssa (Sarah Sutton).
Fifth Doctor
5th Doctor
Peter Davison 21 Mar 1981 16 Mar 1984
  • Peter Davison was the fifth Doctor / 5th Doctor Who actor.
  • The fifth Doctor’s companions are Adric (Matthew Waterhouse), Tegan Jovanka (Janet Fielding), Nyssa (Sarah Sutton), Vislor Turlough (Mark Strickson), Kamelion (voice of Gerald Flood) and Peri Brown (Nicola Bryant).
Sixth Doctor
6th Doctor
Colin Baker 16 Mar 1984 6 Dec 1986
  • Colin Baker was the sixth Doctor / 6th Doctor Who actor.
  • The sixth Doctor Who companions are Peri Brown (Nicola Bryant) and Mel Bush (Bonnie Langford).
Seventh Doctor
7th Doctor
Sylvester McCoy 7 Sep 1987 6 Dec 1989
  • Sylvester McCoy was the seventh Doctor / 7th Doctor Who actor.
  • The seventh Doctor’s companions are Mel Bush (Bonnie Langford) and Ace (Sophie Aldred).
Eighth Doctor
8th Doctor
Paul McGann 27 May 1996
  • Paul McGann was the eighth Doctor actor / 8th Doctor Who.
  • The eighth Doctor’s companion is Grace Holloway (Daphne Ashbrook).
Ninth Doctor
9th Doctor
Christopher Eccleston 6 Mar 2005 18 Jun 2005
  • Christopher Eccleston was the ninth Doctor  / 9th Doctor Who actor.
  • The Ninth Doctor companions are Rose Tyler (Billie Piper), Adam Mitchell (Bruno Langley) and Jack Harkness (John Barrowman).
Tenth Doctor
10th Doctor
David Tennant 18 Jun 2005 1 Jan 2010
  • David Tennant was the tenth Doctor / 10th Doctor Who actor.
  • The tenth Doctor’s companions are Rose Tyler (Billie Piper), Mickey Smith (Noel Clarke), Donna Noble (Catherine Tate), Martha Jones (Freema Agyeman), Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman), Astrid Peth (Kylie Minogue), Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen), Jackson Lake (David Morrissey), Lady Christina de Souza (Michelle Ryan), Adelaide Brooke (Lindsay Duncan) and Wilfred Mott (Bernard Cribbins).
Eleventh Doctor
11th Doctor
Matt Smith 1 Jan 2010 25 Dec 2013
  • Matt Smith was the eleventh Doctor / 11th Doctor Who actor.
  • The eleventh Doctor companions are Amy Pond (Karen Gillan), Rory Williams (Arthur Darvill), River Song (Alex Kingston), Craig Owens (James Corden) and Clara Oswald (Jenna Coleman).
Twelfth Doctor
12th Doctor
Peter Capaldi 25 Dec 2013 2017
  • Peter Capaldi was the twelfth Doctor / 12th Doctor Who actor.
  • The twelfth Doctor’s companions are Clara Oswald (Jenna Coleman), River Song (Alex Kingston), Nardole (Matt Lucas) and Bill Potts (Pearl Mackie).
Thirteenth Doctor
13th Docto
Jodie Whittaker 2017
  • Jodie Whittaker is the first female Doctor Who, the thirteenth Doctor / 13th Doctor Who actor and the current Doctor.
  • Jodie Whittaker made her debut in the 2017 Doctor Who “Twice Upon a Time” Christmas TV show.
  • Jodie Whittaker’s first full series as the Doctor was broadcast by the BBC and premiered in the UK in October 2018.
  • The thirteenth and current Doctor Who companions are Graham O’Brien (Bradley Walsh), Yasmin Khan (Mandip Gill) and Ryan Sinclair (Tosin Cole).

FAQ About Doctor Who Actors

  • Is The Doctor Who TV Series still broadcast today (2024)?
    Yes, the BBC TV Series Doctor Who is still broadcast in the UK on BBC One. There are also Doctor Who re-runs on the BBC iPlayer, other TV channels, and media streaming services worldwide.

Related ADDucation Lists:

  • Famous cartoon characters…
  • How many Doctor Who actors did you remember?
  • Who was your favorite Dr Who actor – or least favorite Doctor and why?
  • Who are the best Doctor Who enemies, villains?
  • Who are the best Doctor Who companions?
  • Share your answers and Doctor Who memories in the comments below…

Share via Social Media or Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *