Nato Secretary General

NATO Secretary General

NATO Secretary General – All Time List Since 1949

NATO – the North Atlantic Treaty Organization – is a military alliance based on a 1949 Treaty. The “NATO Secretary General” heads the alliance and is generally chosen by consensus. 13 different Secretary General of NATO terms have be served to date with 3 acting NATO secretary generals. Anders Fogh Rasmussen was succeeded by Jens Stoltenberg of Norway in October 2014. Each member state (28 in total) agrees to defend any other member who comes under attack. This has only ever happened once – after the 9/11 World Trade Tower attacks in New York and led to the deployment of troops in Afghanistan.

ADDucation Tips: Click column headings with arrows to sort NATO Secretary General list. Click the + icon to expand columns on tablets and mobiles. Resize browser to see more/less columns. Start typing in the Filter table box to find anything inside the table of NATO Secretary General in history.

NATO Secretary GeneralTenureNationality#Born / DiedAchievements, previous offices etc.
Baron Hastings Ismay1952-1957Great Britain11887-1965Joined the British Army 1905 in the British Army. Served as a soldier in India and Somaliland among other places
Paul-Henri Spaak1957-1961Belgium21899-1972Regarded as one of the EU’s founding fathers.
Dirk Stikker1961-1964The Netherlands31897-1979Resigned due to health problems while in Office.
Manlio Giovanni Brosio1964-1971Italy41897-1980Demonstrated diplomatic skills during the 1968 invasion of Prague by the Russians.
Joseph Luns1971-1984The Netherlands51911-2002Dutch Foreign Minister from 1952-1971, signed the Treaty of Rome for the Netherlands.
Baron Peter Carington1984-1988Great Britain61919Secretary of State for Defense from 1970-1974 and Foreign Secretary 1979-1982. Resigned because of criticism related to the Falklands war.
Manfred Wörner1988-1994Germany71934-1994West German Defense Minister from 1982-1988. Died during tenure of colon cancer shortly before his 60th birthday.
Sergio Balanzino1994Italy*1934Took over only temporarily after Wörners death.
Willy Claes1994-1995Belgium81938Deputy Prime Minister of Belgium five times between 1973 and 1992. Forced to resign over pressure relating to the “Agusta Affair” (Italian helicopter deliveries)
Sergio Balanzino1995Italy*1934Took over temporarily after Claes’s resignation.
Javier Solana1995-1999Spain91942Originally a NATO opponent which led to sharp criticism of the nomination by the United States.
Baron George Robertson1999-2003Great Britain101946Previously British Defense Minister from 1997-1999 under UK Prime Minister Tony Blair.
Alessandro Minuto-Rizzo2003-2004Italy*1940Deputy Nato Secretary General 2001 to 2007, was acting Nato Secretary General for three weeks between 17 December 2003 and 1st January 2004.
Jaap de Hoop Scheffer2004-2009The Netherlands111948Viewed NATO’s main role as peacekeeping in Afghanistan.
Anders Fogh Rasmussen2009-2014Denmark121953Prime Minister of Denmark from 2001-2009.
Jens StoltenbergSince 2014Norway131959Prime Minister of Norway from 2000-2001 and 2005-2013.

Notes: *Acting NATO Secretary General. The French term for the Secretary General is: Secrétaire général de l’OTAN

Related ADDucation Lists of NATO Secretary General:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

11 + 8 =